Brooks Koepka Captures Second Consecutive PGA of America Player of the Year Award

Brooks Koepka wins the 2018 PGA Championship


PALM BEACH GARDENS, Florida — Two-time defending PGA Champion Brooks Koepka edged Rory McIlroy in capturing a second consecutive PGA of America Player of the Year Award, presented by the PGA of America for excellence by a PGA TOUR professional.

McIlroy, who won the TOUR Championship and was a three-time-time winner this season, earned his third Vardon Trophy.

Koepka’s drive to a second straight PGA Player of the Year Award was highlighted by his repeat triumph in the PGA Championship in May. His overall 84 points are based upon 50 points for collecting his fourth career major along with victories in The CJ Cup at Nine Bridges and the World Golf Championships-FedEx St. Jude Invitational. He topped the season money list and was fourth in the Vardon Trophy standings for adjusted scoring average. The official PGA TOUR season money list concludes prior to the 30-player TOUR Championship.

McIlroy, the 2012 and ’14 PGA Player of the Year, was second overall with 78 points, followed by Patrick Cantlay and U.S. Open Champion Gary Woodland with 42 points each.

Click here for a list of all past PGA Player of the Year Award and Vardon Trophy winners.

For more information about the PGA of America, visit, follow @PGA on Twitter and find us on Facebook.

Click here for the full story...