Mackenzie Tour Team Announced For 2017 Aruba Cup

(Photo/Mackenzie Tour – PGA TOUR Canada)

NOORD, Aruba — The Mackenzie Tour – PGA TOUR Canada announced its 10-man team for the second annual Aruba Cup, led by two-time winner and 2017 Player of the Year Kramer Hickok.

The team, consisting of the top-10 players on the 2017 Mackenzie Tour Order of Merit, will compete against a team of 10 players to be announced from PGA TOUR Latinoamérica in a Presidents Cup-style event at Tierra del Sol Resort and Golf in Aruba, Dec. 11-16, 2017. The three competition days will four-ball, foursome and singles matches on December 14, 15 and 16, respectively. The PGA TOUR Latinoamerica team will be announced following the season-ending Shell Championship in Miami, Florida, from Nov. 30-Dec. 3.

“I’m so excited to tee it up with the guys and compete for the Aruba Cup this year. We had so many strong players compete on the Mackenzie Tour this year and I can’t wait to play alongside these guys.” said Hickok, who won twice in 2017 on the way to earning Player of the Year honours and exempt status on the Tour for 2018. “It’s going to be a great way to celebrate the end of an awesome year, and I’m really looking forward to spending some time with the team in Aruba.”

Joining Hickok (Dallas, Texas) on the team are Robby Shelton (Wilmer, Alabama), Johnny Ruiz (Camarillo, California), Patrick Newcomb (Benton, Kentucky), Rico Hoey (Rancho Cucamonga, California), Lee McCoy (Tampa, Florida), Max Rottluff (Dusseldorf, Germany), Chase Wright (Muncie, Indiana), Jordan Niebrugge (Mequon, Wisconsin), and T.J. Vogel (Jacksonville Beach, Florida).

Shelton, McCoy and Niebrugge have International match-play experience as former U.S. Walker Cup team members, while Hoey, Rottluff, McCoy and Shelton all played in the Arnold Palmer Cup.

“These players have proven themselves as great players this year and throughout their young careers so far. I’ve already gotten to know the guys a little bit and I’m so excited to lead them into competition this year at the Aruba Cup,” said Mackenzie Tour Team Captain Ben Silverman. “We know the team from PGA TOUR Latinoamérica will be tough to beat, and I’m looking forward to some great matches in Aruba.”

The inaugural Aruba Cup took place in 2016, with the team from PGA TOUR Latinoamerica defeating the Mackenzie Tour team, 13-7. The 2017 Aruba Cup consists of three competition days, featuring four-ball, foursomes and singles matches from Dec. 14-16.

Below is the 10-man roster for the Mackenzie Tour team:

Name Hometown Notes
Kramer Hickok Dallas, Texas Two wins, three runners-up, six top-10s, nine top-25s in 2017. 2013 NCAA All-American at the University of Texas.
 Robby Shelton  Wilmer, Alabama  One win, two runners-up, six top-10s, eight top-25s in 2017. Three-time first-team NCAA All-American at the University of Alabama and member of 2015 Walker Cup team.
 Johnny Ruiz  Camarillo, California  One win, two runners-up, five top-10s, seven top-25s in 2017.
 Patrick Newcomb  Benton, Kentucky  Two wins, four top-10s, six top-25s in 2017. Became first player to win on PGA TOUR Latinoamérica and the Mackenzie Tour.
 Rico Hoey  Rancho Cucamonga, California  One win, one runner-up, six top-10s, eight top-25s in 2017. Four-time NCAA All-American at the University of Southern California.
 Lee McCoy  Tampa, Florida  One win, four top-10s, six runners-up in 2017. Three-time NCAA All-American at the University of Georgia. 2015 Walker Cup team member.
 Max Rottluff  Dusseldorf, Germany  One win, one runner-up, two top-10s, four top-25s in 2017. 2015 first-team All-American at Arizona State University.
 Chase Wright  Muncie, Indiana  One win, two top-10s, six top-25s in 2017. Six top-10 finishes on Tour from 2013-2015.
 Jordan Niebrugge  Mequon, Wisconsin  Two runners-up, three top-10s, four top-25s in 2017. Four-time NCAA All-American at Oklahoma State University. Silver Medalist as low amateur (T6) at the 2015 Open Championship. 2013 and 2015 Walker Cup team member.
T.J. Vogel Jacksonville Beach, Florida One runner-up, two top-10s, seven top-25s in 2017. 2012 U.S. Amateur Public Links winner. Two-time NCAA All-American at University of Southern California and University of Florida.